Virtual data room pricing

How much does a virtual data room cost in 2026?

Published virtual data room plans for small deals run from about $30 to $400 a month in 2026, on the vendors’ own pricing pages checked 2026-11-03, while quote-only rooms (Datasite, Intralinks, iDeals, Firmex) publish no prices and quote each deal or subscription. ClosingVault costs $99, $199 or $449 a month for 1, 3 or 10 active deal rooms (founding prices for the first 25 firms; $139/$279/$629 standard). The firm that opens the room pays. Invited buyers, sellers, owners and their teams are always free and unlimited.

Last updated: 2026-11-03

ClosingVault’s own plans, in full: ClosingVault pricing. Brokers running several listings at once: the data room for business brokers.

What do data rooms charge? Published prices, compared

Each vendor’s entry plan for data rooms, read from its own site on 2026-11-03. A data room is a secure online space where a seller shares due diligence documents with buyers and their advisors.

Prices and features checked 2026-11-03 on each vendor’s own site. US dollars unless marked €.
Vendor Lowest price, per month, billed yearly Pricing model Guests free
ClosingVault1 $79 Flat tier Yes
Papermark3 €99 Flat tier + members Yes
SecureDocs4 $250 Flat by term Yes
LockRoom5 $375* Flat per room Yes
CapLinked6 $399* Flat tiers Yes
DocSend7 $150 Tier with 3 users Yes
Digify8 $150 Users, rooms, guests No
Orangedox9 $55 Per admin Yes
Onehub10 $300 Flat Yes
ShareFile11 $346.50 Per user Yes
Ansarada12 $69 Storage × term Yes
Peony13 $30 Per admin Yes
FirmRoom14 $395* Storage tiers Yes
HelpRange15 $139 Flat per team Yes
MergerMatch16 $79* Per active room Yes
Datasite17 Quote Per transaction Not stated
Intralinks17 Quote Per deal Not stated
iDeals17 Quote Tiers Not stated
Firmex17 Quote By data volume Not stated
DFIN Venue17 Quote Not stated Not stated
  1. ClosingVault Starter: founding price for the first 25 firms; $109 standard; $99 month to month.
  2. * Billed monthly: the vendor publishes no yearly price for this plan. — not stated on the vendor’s own site.
  3. Papermark Data Rooms, in euros: 3 members, extra members €33 a month.
  4. SecureDocs: 12-month plan, billed annually; unlimited users and documents.
  5. LockRoom: one room; unlimited rooms are $6,000 a year.
  6. CapLinked Team: 5 GB, no long-term contract; Enterprise from $5,500 a year.
  7. DocSend Advanced: 3 users; Advanced Data Rooms is $180.
  8. Digify Pro: 1 user, 3 rooms, 50 data room guests, 100 GB.
  9. Orangedox Starter: 1 admin, 5 rooms, 15 recipients per room.
  10. Onehub Data Room Edition: viewers are free but count toward the plan’s user limit.
  11. ShareFile Virtual Data Room: $69.30 per user with a 5-user minimum; 1 GB per license.
  12. Ansarada Essentials: 50 MB on a 12-month term, 5 internal users.
  13. Peony Business: per admin, 3 rooms per admin; a free plan also exists.
  14. FirmRoom: 2 GB and 1 active room.
  15. HelpRange Unlimited: $1,670 a year; also a $199 Deal Room Pass for 90 days.
  16. MergerMatch: 1 active room and 20 GiB, after a 14-day trial.
  17. Datasite, Intralinks, iDeals, Firmex and DFIN Venue publish no prices.

What are the four ways data rooms charge?

  • Flat rate: one price per room or per plan, however many people read it. It gets expensive when you pay for rooms or months you don’t use, such as a single-room plan kept running while a deal drags on.
  • Per user: each internal seat costs money. It gets expensive with a large deal team, or with a minimum, such as ShareFile’s 5-user minimum.
  • Per page: every page uploaded is billed. It gets expensive when a seller uploads thousands of scanned pages, duplicates included. None of the vendors with published prices above charges this way.
  • Per GB (storage): the price follows how much you store. It gets expensive with large scans, as with Ansarada’s storage-and-term plans or FirmRoom’s storage tiers.

What hidden costs should you watch for?

  • Storage overages: FirmRoom charges $150 per GB a month over its tier (firmroom.com, checked 2026-11-03); Ansarada bills data overage (ansarada.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Extra rooms: FirmRoom charges $250 a month per extra active room (firmroom.com, checked 2026-11-03). On ClosingVault, 10 more archived rooms are $10 a month ($100 a year).
  • Extra seats: Papermark charges €33 a month (yearly) or €49 (monthly) per extra team member (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03); ShareFile has a 5-user minimum (sharefile.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Guest caps: Digify sets a guest quota per tier (digify.com, checked 2026-11-03); Orangedox Starter allows 15 recipients per room (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03); Onehub counts viewers toward the user limit (onehub.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Features on higher tiers: Papermark’s AI redaction is on Data Rooms Premium (€549 a month billed yearly) (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03); its Q&A module starts at Data Rooms Plus (€249 a month billed yearly) (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Short terms: SecureDocs is $400 a month on its 3-month plan and $250 on 12 months (onit.com, checked 2026-11-03); Ansarada’s 50 MB plan is $99 on a 1-month term and $69 on 12 months (ansarada.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Archive and export fees: none of the pages we checked stated one. Ask before you sign.

What does a small deal actually need?

  • One room for as long as the deal runs, with room for scanned statements and tax returns.
  • Free, unlimited guests: buyers, their advisors, the seller and the seller’s team.
  • An NDA before anything confidential, and access that opens stage by stage.
  • A watermark and an activity log per viewer, and buyer access that ends on a date.
  • Bank account and Social Security numbers hidden before a buyer sees a page (how data room redaction works).
  • A request list that shows what is still missing.

Not sure you need one at all? Do I need a data room to sell my business?

Is there a free virtual data room?

  • ClosingVault: a 30-day free trial with 1 active deal room, up to 250 documents and 10 Ask the Data Room questions a day. No credit card, one trial per company.
  • Peony: a free plan alongside its paid plans (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03).
  • MergerMatch: a 14-day free trial, card required (mergermatch.ai, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Ansarada: no fees until an external guest is invited (ansarada.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • A shared folder in Google Drive or Dropbox costs nothing extra and can do for one trusted buyer, but it has no NDA gate, no automatic redaction and no request list.

Data room pricing questions

How much does a virtual data room cost?

Published entry plans for small deals run from about $30 to $400 a month in 2026, on the vendors’ own pricing pages checked 2026-11-03: from Peony at $30 per admin a month billed yearly to CapLinked Team at $399 a month. Datasite, Intralinks, iDeals, Firmex and DFIN Venue publish no prices and quote each deal or subscription. ClosingVault costs $99, $199 or $449 a month for 1, 3 or 10 active deal rooms (founding prices; $139, $279 or $629 standard).

What is the cheapest data room for a small business sale?

The lowest published paid entry plan we found is Peony Business, $30 per admin a month billed yearly with 3 rooms per admin, and Peony also has a free plan (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03). MergerMatch is $79 a month for 1 active room, and ClosingVault is $99 a month for 1 active deal room (founding price). The cheapest plan is only cheaper if it includes what the deal needs: guests, redaction, an NDA gate and enough storage.

Flat-rate vs per-page: which is cheaper?

For a small deal with a lot of scanned pages, a flat rate is easier to predict, because a per-page price grows with every page the seller uploads, duplicates included. None of the vendors with published prices in the table above charges per page, and LockRoom, Peony and HelpRange say outright that they don’t.

What hidden fees should I watch for?

Watch for storage overages, extra rooms, extra seats, guest caps and features held back for higher tiers. Examples from vendors’ own pages, checked 2026-11-03: FirmRoom charges $150 per GB a month over its storage and $250 a month per extra active room; Digify’s Pro plan allows 50 guests; Papermark’s AI redaction is on Data Rooms Premium, not the entry plan.

Is there a free data room?

Peony has a free plan, and several vendors offer trials. ClosingVault’s free trial lasts 30 days with 1 active deal room, up to 250 documents and no credit card, one trial per company. A view-only shared folder costs nothing extra, but it has no NDA gate, no automatic redaction and no request list.

Who pays for the data room?

The firm that opens the room pays. Invited buyers, sellers, owners and their teams are always free and unlimited. The plan sets how many deals run at once, not how many people are invited.

What does “active deal room” mean?

A deal room is active while its deal is live, and your plan’s number is how many deals you can run at the same time. Archiving a room frees its slot, and an archived room can be reactivated when a slot is free.