Compare data rooms

Which low-cost data room runs the whole sale?

ClosingVault Starter covers all 20 steps of a business sale in the grid below, for $79 a month billed yearly (founding price). The seven low-cost rooms state 2 to 7 of them on their own sites, checked 2026-11-03. The firm that opens the room pays. Invited buyers, sellers, owners and their teams are always free and unlimited.

Last updated: 2026-11-03

Every step of a sale, room by room

One row for each thing a sale needs, from the seller’s first upload to the close. One person, one deal.

Checked 2026-11-03 on each vendor’s own site. ✓ included · — not stated
What the room does ClosingVault Peony Orangedox Ansarada MergerMatch Papermark DocSend HelpRange
Organize the documents
Take the seller’s documents in bulk, and read scanned pages3 Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
File each document to the checklist item it answers, and show what’s missing4 Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
File bank statements by bank, account and month Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Skip a re-upload of an identical file, and tell the uploader Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Close each request with a document or the seller’s signed statement5 Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Import your own checklist from a spreadsheet6 Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated $180 plan Not stated
Protect what’s sensitive
Remove SSNs and account numbers automatically7,8 Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated €549 plan Not stated Not stated
Redact Word and Excel files without converting them to PDF9 Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Buyer access always expires Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Watermark every page with the viewer and the time10 Included $52 plan Not stated Not stated Not stated Included Included Included
View only, unless downloads are allowed11 Included Included $65 plan Included Not stated Included Included Included
Run the deal
Release the CIM only after the NDA Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Receive LOIs and decide them by owner majority Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Exclusivity pauses the other buyers Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Gate access with an NDA12 Included $52 plan $65 plan Not stated Not stated Included Included Included
Keep everyone informed
Weekly status for each party Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Answer buyer questions from the room’s documents13 Included Included Not stated Included Not stated Not stated Not stated Included
Page-by-page reading, buyer by buyer Included Included Included Not stated Not stated Included Included Included
Audit log of every view and download14 Included $52 plan Included Included Included €249 plan $180 plan Included
Invited guests free15 Included Included Included Included Included Included Included Included
Steps covered, of 202 20 7 5 4 2 7 7 7
Price for those steps, 1 person (per month, billed yearly) $7916 $5217 $65 $6918 $7919 €54920 $18017 $13921
  1. ✓ included on the vendor’s entry data-room plan · “$X plan” the cheapest plan that has it · — not stated on the vendor’s own site, counted as not covered.
  2. Steps covered counts ✓ and “$X plan”; the price is the cheapest plan that has all of them, per month billed yearly, for one person.
  3. DocSend and HelpRange list file requests; reading scanned pages is not stated.
  4. DocSend’s AI Organize suggests folders, Ansarada’s AI sorts into categories, Peony lists auto-indexing.
  5. DocSend’s diligence tracker lets a visitor decline a task that doesn’t apply, and an admin can mark a task complete without either.
  6. DocSend imports tasks from its CSV template. Ansarada states Excel checklist import without saying which plan has it; Papermark’s request-list import names no file format.
  7. Papermark’s AI finds each value for a person to approve; ClosingVault’s rules remove them on every plan.
  8. Ansarada’s AI redaction lists emails and IBANs, not SSNs; Peony’s Advanced Redaction is not stated as automatic.
  9. Peony, Ansarada and HelpRange redact PDFs; a Word or Excel file is converted to PDF first.
  10. Orangedox’s watermark shows the email only, on its $135 Teams plan; Ansarada documents viewer watermarks without saying which plan has them; MergerMatch lists watermarks without saying what they show.
  11. ClosingVault allows downloads person by person; the others set them per link, group or room.
  12. In ClosingVault the buyer reads the NDA in full and signs it in the room.
  13. Peony, Ansarada and HelpRange state AI answers; ClosingVault returns the documents themselves.
  14. ClosingVault’s log is hash-chained and append-only: the database refuses edits and deletes. DocSend and Papermark show visits per document on lower plans; the room-wide audit log is on the plan shown.
  15. Orangedox caps recipients at 15 per room on Starter and 500 on Business. Its rooms are built on the customer’s Google Drive or Dropbox (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03): a cloud storage hack, meaning a sharing layer added to a general-purpose drive, so the files stay under that drive’s sharing, sync and sign-in. Professional virtual data room vs. cloud storage hack.
  16. ClosingVault Starter: founding price for the first 25 firms; $109 standard; $99 month to month.
  17. Peony is priced per admin; DocSend’s Advanced Data Rooms plan includes 3 users.
  18. Ansarada’s $69 is Essentials with 50 MB of storage, on a 12-month term.
  19. MergerMatch publishes a monthly price only.
  20. Papermark prices in euros; €549 is Data Rooms Premium.
  21. HelpRange also sells a $199 Deal Room Pass for 90 days, not scored here.

When a cheaper room is enough: one person sharing a few files with one buyer can use a cheaper room, or a view-only shared folder. This comparison is for running a sale, from the first teaser to the close. Do I need a data room?

What decides it

  • Filed to the checklist item, not just a folder

    The AI reads every file, scans included, files it under the checklist item it answers and ticks the item. What’s left on the list is what’s missing. Watch it file a deal.

  • SSNs and account numbers removed, on every plan

    Social Security numbers, taxpayer IDs, card and bank account numbers and the account details on checks are removed from the file, not just covered, and every redacted copy is checked again before anyone sees it. Names, emails and phone numbers stay visible on purpose: the buyer is entitled to see who the customers, employees and vendors are. How redaction works.

  • The whole deal in one room

    Teaser, then an NDA the buyer reads in full and signs in the room, then the CIM. The buyer uploads a signed LOI, and it is accepted, countered or declined only when owners holding more than half of the company approve. Accepting it starts exclusivity, which pauses the other buyers’ access rather than ending it. Then diligence and the close. Buyer access always ends: two weeks by default, two months at most.

  • Questions answered with the documents

    Ask the Data Room returns the documents that answer a plain-words question, only from what the person asking may see. It never answers in its own words. What the AI does and never does.

  • Seats and guests included

    Starter has 2 admins. Professional has 15 admins and 10 live deal rooms, for $359 a month billed yearly (founding). At 15 admins, Peony’s Data Room plan is $780 a month billed yearly ($52 per admin). Invited users are free and unlimited on every plan. Every plan and price.

Comparison questions

What is the cheapest data room that covers a whole business sale?

Of the eight rooms compared here, ClosingVault Starter is the only one that states all 20 steps of a sale, at $79 a month billed yearly (founding price; $109 standard). The best plans of the other seven state 2 to 7 of the 20, for $52 to €549 a month, on their own sites checked 2026-11-03.

Is ClosingVault the cheapest data room for one deal?

Not on sticker price. Peony Business is $30 per admin a month, Orangedox Starter $55 and Ansarada Essentials $69, billed yearly (vendor sites, checked 2026-11-03), against ClosingVault Starter at $79. Those plans state 3 or 4 of the 20 steps of a sale; ClosingVault states all 20.

Which data rooms file documents to a due diligence checklist?

Of the rooms compared here, only ClosingVault states it: the AI files each document under the checklist item it answers and shows what is still missing. DocSend’s AI Organize suggests folders, Ansarada’s AI sorts uploads into categories, and Peony lists auto-indexing (vendor sites, checked 2026-11-03).

Which low-cost data rooms remove Social Security and account numbers automatically?

ClosingVault does, on every plan, removing the values from the file rather than covering them. Papermark’s AI redaction, with a person approving each find, is on its Data Rooms Premium plan at €549 a month billed yearly. The other rooms compared here do not state automatic SSN and account-number removal on their own sites (checked 2026-11-03).

What does “not stated” mean in this comparison?

The vendor’s own site, checked 2026-11-03, did not say its plan includes the step. The feature may exist, so ask the vendor; here it counts as not covered.

Does ClosingVault have a SOC 2 report?

Not yet. SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified.