CapLinked alternative for lower-middle-market M&A

ClosingVault vs CapLinked: which fits a lower-middle-market sale?

Pick CapLinked if you need SOC 2 and HIPAA/HITECH paperwork with BAAs, or FileProtect DRM that can revoke access to a document after it is downloaded. Pick ClosingVault for a lower-middle-market sale: AI filing to the checklist item, automatic SSN and account-number removal on every plan, and LOIs and exclusivity in the room, for $79 a month billed yearly against CapLinked Team at $399 a month.

Last updated: 2026-11-03

How do ClosingVault and CapLinked compare, row by row?

One fact per cell. Each CapLinked fact links to the page of CapLinked’s own site it came from, read on 2026-11-03. “Not stated” means that site did not say.

ClosingVault and CapLinked, checked 2026-11-03 on each vendor’s own site
What the room does ClosingVault CapLinked
Entry price, per month $79 billed yearly, Starter (founding price) $399, Team, no long-term contractcaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
Next plan up $159 billed yearly, Plus (founding price) Enterprise, from $550 a month or $5,500 a yearcaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
How it’s priced Flat tier Flat tiered planscaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
Invited guests Free and unlimited Unlimited guest userscaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
How documents are organized Files each document to the checklist item it answers Automatic File Indexing, not claimed as AIcaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
Scanned pages Read by OCR on ClosingVault’s own servers OCR full-text searchcaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
Redaction SSNs, taxpayer IDs, card and bank account numbers, automatically PDF redaction tool on Enterprise; method not statedcaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
Buyer questions Answered with the document linked, or sent to the seller EZ Q&A, assigned to subject matter expertscaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
After a download The copy is marked with the buyer’s email and the time FileProtect DRM can revoke accesscaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
LOIs and exclusivity in the room Owner majority decides; exclusivity pauses other buyers Not statedcaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03
SOC 2 and HIPAA SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified. SOC 2; HIPAA/HITECH with BAAscaplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03

On the same basis as our comparison (per month, billed yearly): ClosingVault Starter is $79 (founding price; $109 standard). CapLinked publishes no yearly price for Team, which is $399 a month with no long-term contract and 5 GB in its comparison table; Enterprise is from $550 a month or $5,500 a year (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03). CapLinked is not one of the seven rooms on the 20-step grid.

Where is CapLinked strong?

  • Control after download. FileProtect DRM can revoke access to documents after they are downloaded (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Regulated-industry paperwork. CapLinked states SOC 2, HIPAA/HITECH with BAAs, and FISMA (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Unlimited guests and no long-term contract on Team, with OCR full-text search (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03).

Where does ClosingVault win?

Every step of a sale, room by room: compare data rooms. Every ClosingVault feature, one page each: features.

ClosingVault vs CapLinked questions

I’m an M&A advisor selling a healthcare practice and the buyer wants a BAA. Which room fits?

CapLinked: it states HIPAA/HITECH with BAAs (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault makes no HIPAA claim, so if a BAA is a requirement, CapLinked is the one that states it.

Can I take a document back after a buyer downloads it?

With CapLinked’s FileProtect DRM, yes: it can revoke access to downloaded documents (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03). In ClosingVault downloads are allowed person by person, a downloaded copy is marked with the buyer’s own email and the time, and everyone else reads in a watermarked viewer.

Does CapLinked file documents automatically?

CapLinked lists Automatic File Indexing and OCR full-text search, not claimed as AI (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault’s AI files each document under the checklist item it answers and ticks that item.

Is CapLinked’s redaction automatic?

CapLinked lists a PDF redaction tool on its Enterprise plan, from $550 a month, without saying whether it is manual or AI (checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault removes SSNs and account numbers automatically, on every plan.

Is there a long-term contract with either one?

Not on CapLinked Team, which is $399 a month with no long-term contract (caplinked.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault Starter is $99 month to month, or $79 a month billed yearly (founding price).