Papermark alternative for lower-middle-market M&A
ClosingVault vs Papermark: which fits a lower-middle-market sale?
Pick Papermark if you want an open-source room you can self-host, a vendor with SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, or AI chat that answers in words. Pick ClosingVault for a lower-middle-market business sale: filing to the checklist item, SSN and account-number removal on every plan, and LOIs and exclusivity in the room, for $79 a month billed yearly, against €549 for the Papermark plan that includes its AI redaction.
Last updated: 2026-11-03
How do ClosingVault and Papermark compare, row by row?
One fact per cell. Each Papermark fact links to the page of Papermark’s own site it came from, read on 2026-11-03. “Not stated” means that site did not say.
| What the room does | ClosingVault | Papermark |
|---|---|---|
| Entry data-room price, per month billed yearly | $79, Starter (founding price; $109 standard) | €99, Data Rooms plan, 3 team memberspapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| How it’s priced | Flat tier | Flat tier, plus €33 a month per extra memberpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Invited guests | Free and unlimited | Unlimited visitors on all planspapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| How the AI organizes documents | Files each document to the checklist item it answers | Not statedpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Finds SSNs and account numbers automatically | SSNs, taxpayer IDs, card and bank account numbers, automatically | AI finds them; a person approves each findpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Plan that includes redaction | Every plan | Data Rooms Premium (€549) and Unlimitedpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Hides names, emails and addresses | No: they stay visible on purpose | Yes, among 7 PII categoriespapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Questions about the documents | Returns the documents, never an answer in its own words | AI chat with cited, permission-aware answerspapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| NDA before access | Read and signed in the room; signing opens the CIM | NDA agreements, on the Data Rooms planpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Room-wide audit log | Hash-chained and append-only | On Data Rooms Plus (€249)papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| LOIs and exclusivity in the room | Owner majority decides; exclusivity pauses other buyers | Not statedpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified. | SOC 2 Type IIpapermark.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
On the basis of our step-by-step comparison (per month, billed yearly, one person): ClosingVault Starter is $79 (founding price; $109 standard) and covers all 20 steps of a sale. Papermark’s Data Rooms plan is €99, and the plan that states the most steps, 7 of the 20, is Data Rooms Premium at €549 (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03).
Where is Papermark strong?
- Open source. Papermark is open source and can be self-hosted (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault is a hosted service.
- Audited. Papermark states SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001 and GDPR (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03).
- Wider PII detection. Its AI redaction finds names, emails, phones, addresses, SSNs, tax IDs and account numbers, with a person approving each find (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault’s rules leave names, emails and phone numbers visible.
- Page-by-page analytics on every plan, including time on each page (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03).
Where does ClosingVault win?
- Automatic SSN and account-number removal on every plan from $79 a month billed yearly, against Papermark’s €549 Data Rooms Premium.
- Every document is filed to the checklist item it answers, scans included, and the Missing count falls on its own.
- LOIs, the owners’ vote and exclusivity are in the room and on its record.
- The room-wide audit log is hash-chained and on every plan; Papermark lists its audit log on Data Rooms Plus (€249).
Every step of a sale, room by room: compare data rooms. Every ClosingVault feature, one page each: features.
ClosingVault vs Papermark questions
I’m an M&A advisor and my client wants a data room they can self-host. Is
ClosingVault open source?
No. ClosingVault is a hosted service. Papermark is open source and can be self-hosted (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03), so pick Papermark if self-hosting is a requirement.
Which is cheaper for automatic redaction of Social Security numbers?
ClosingVault. Its automatic redaction is on every plan from $79 a month billed yearly; Papermark’s AI redaction is on Data Rooms Premium at €549 a month billed yearly (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03).
I need customer names hidden from buyers. Which room does that?
Papermark: its AI detects names, emails, phones and addresses, with a person approving each find (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault’s rules leave names, emails and phone numbers visible on purpose.
Does Papermark track the LOI and exclusivity?
Its own site doesn’t state LOIs, owner votes or exclusivity (checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault takes the signed LOI in the room, lets the owners’ majority decide it, and pauses the other buyers during exclusivity.
Does Papermark have security certifications ClosingVault doesn’t?
Yes. Papermark states SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 (papermark.com, checked 2026-11-03). SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified.