Peony alternative for lower-middle-market M&A

ClosingVault vs Peony: which fits a lower-middle-market sale?

Pick Peony if you want the lowest per-admin price, unlimited viewers and an AI that answers questions in words. Pick ClosingVault if you are running a lower-middle-market business sale: it files each document to the checklist item it answers, removes SSNs and account numbers on every plan, and runs the NDA, LOIs and exclusivity in the room, for $79 a month billed yearly (founding price).

Last updated: 2026-11-03

How do ClosingVault and Peony compare, row by row?

One fact per cell. Each Peony fact links to the page of Peony’s own site it came from, read on 2026-11-03. “Not stated” means that site did not say.

ClosingVault and Peony, checked 2026-11-03 on each vendor’s own site
What the room does ClosingVault Peony
Entry data-room price, per month billed yearly $79, Starter (founding price; $109 standard) $30 per admin, Business planpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
How it’s priced Flat tier Per adminpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Invited guests Free and unlimited Unlimited viewers on every planpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
How the AI organizes documents Files each document to the checklist item it answers Auto-indexing, on the Data Room plan and uppeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Bank statements filed by bank, account and month Yes, by bank, account and month Not statedpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Finds SSNs and account numbers automatically SSNs, taxpayer IDs, card and bank account numbers, automatically Not statedpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Plan that includes redaction Every plan Deal Team ($64 per admin) and Enterprisepeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Redacts Word and Excel without converting to PDF Yes, each file in its own format No: Word and Excel are exported to PDF firstpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Questions about the documents Returns the documents, never an answer in its own words AI document Q&A, from the Business planpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
Watermark Viewer’s name and the time Viewer name, email, IP, date and time, on Data Room and uppeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
LOIs and exclusivity in the room Owner majority decides; exclusivity pauses other buyers Not statedpeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03
SOC 2 SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified. Not certified; SOC 2 Type II audit underwaypeony.ink, checked 2026-11-03

On the basis of our step-by-step comparison (per month, billed yearly, one person): ClosingVault Starter is $79 (founding price; $109 standard) and covers all 20 steps of a sale. Peony’s Data Room plan is $52 per admin and states 7 of the 20 (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03). Starter includes 2 admins; two admins on Peony’s Data Room plan come to $104.

Where is Peony strong?

  • Low per-admin pricing. Business is $30 per admin a month billed yearly, with no per-page, per-room, per-guest or storage-overage fees, and a free plan exists (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Page-level analytics on every plan. Page-by-page views and time per page for every viewer (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03).
  • An AI that answers in words. AI document Q&A is on Business (1x), Data Room (5x) and Deal Team (10x) (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault deliberately has none.

Where does ClosingVault win?

Every step of a sale, room by room: compare data rooms. Every ClosingVault feature, one page each: features.

ClosingVault vs Peony questions

I’m a business broker comparing Peony and ClosingVault for one listing at a time. Which is cheaper?

Peony, on sticker price: Business is $30 per admin a month and Data Room $52, billed yearly (peony.ink, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault Starter is $79 with 2 admins included, and states all 20 steps of a sale on our comparison against Peony’s 7.

Does Peony file documents to a due diligence checklist?

Peony’s own site doesn’t state it (checked 2026-11-03); it lists auto-indexing on its Data Room plan and up. ClosingVault files each document under the checklist item it answers and shows what is still missing.

Can Peony redact a Word or Excel file without turning it into a PDF?

No. Peony’s docs say Word and Excel files are exported to PDF before redaction, which is on its Deal Team plan (checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault redacts Word, Excel, PowerPoint and CSV files in their own format, on every plan.

Does Peony or ClosingVault have a SOC 2 report?

Neither, as of 2026-11-03. Peony says its SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 audits are underway. SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified.

I’m selling my company with my brother. Can Peony handle the owners’ vote on an LOI?

Peony’s site doesn’t state LOI decisions or owner votes (checked 2026-11-03). In ClosingVault an LOI is accepted, countered or declined only when owners holding more than half of the company approve.