Orangedox alternative for lower-middle-market M&A

ClosingVault vs Orangedox: professional virtual data room vs. cloud storage hack

Pick Orangedox if your files already live in Google Drive or Dropbox and you want one-click data rooms on top of them, from $55 a month billed yearly. Pick ClosingVault for a self-contained, fully encrypted room built for a lower-middle-market sale: documents filed to the checklist item, SSNs and account numbers removed, and LOIs and exclusivity in the room, for $79 a month billed yearly.

Last updated: 2026-11-03

Cloud storage hack: a sharing layer added to a general-purpose drive. Orangedox builds its rooms on the customer’s Google Drive or Dropbox (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03), so the files stay in that drive, under its own sharing, sync and sign-in. ClosingVault is a professional virtual data room: it holds the files itself.

How do ClosingVault and Orangedox compare, row by row?

One fact per cell. Each Orangedox fact links to the page of Orangedox’s own site it came from, read on 2026-11-03. “Not stated” means that site did not say.

ClosingVault and Orangedox, checked 2026-11-03 on each vendor’s own site
What the room does ClosingVault Orangedox
Entry price, per month billed yearly $79, Starter (founding price; $109 standard) $55, Starter: 1 admin, 5 data roomsorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
How it’s priced Flat tier Per admin, tieredorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Recipients per room Unlimited 15 on Starter; 500 on Business and Teamsorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Where the files live In the room, each encrypted with AES-256-GCM under its own key In the customer’s Google Drive or Dropboxorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
How the AI organizes documents Files each document to the checklist item it answers Not statedorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Finds SSNs and account numbers automatically SSNs, taxpayer IDs, card and bank account numbers, automatically Not statedorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Download control Allowed person by person One “Disable downloading” setting per room, Business and Teamsorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Watermark Viewer’s name and the time Email only, on Teams ($135)orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Page-by-page reading Yes, buyer by buyer Time on each page, every planorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
Buyer questions Answered with the document linked, or sent to the seller No Q&A moduleorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
LOIs and exclusivity in the room Owner majority decides; exclusivity pauses other buyers Not statedorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03
SOC 2 SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified. Not mentioned; CASA Tier 2 certifiedorangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03

On the basis of our step-by-step comparison (per month, billed yearly, one person): ClosingVault Starter is $79 (founding price; $109 standard) and covers all 20 steps of a sale. Orangedox Starter is $55, and the plan that states the most steps, 5 of the 20, is Business at $65; Teams is $135 (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03).

Where is Orangedox strong?

  • Rooms on the drive you already use. One-click virtual data rooms tied directly to your Google Drive, or Dropbox (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • A low entry price. Starter is $55 a month billed yearly, and recipients who view or download files don’t need a license (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03).
  • Page-level analytics on every plan, plus activity and audit logs from Starter (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03).

Where does ClosingVault win?

Every step of a sale, room by room: compare data rooms. Every ClosingVault feature, one page each: features.

ClosingVault vs Orangedox questions

My seller’s documents are all in Google Drive. Why not just put Orangedox on top of it?

You can, and it is quick: Orangedox builds one-click data rooms on your existing Google Drive (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03). The trade-off is that the files stay in a general-purpose drive with its own sharing, sync and account controls; ClosingVault keeps every document in a self-contained room, encrypted with AES-256-GCM under its own key.

How many buyers can I invite on Orangedox Starter?

15 recipients per room on Starter, and 500 on Business and Teams (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03). In ClosingVault invited buyers, sellers, owners and their teams are always free and unlimited.

Does Orangedox redact bank account numbers?

Orangedox’s pricing and security pages don’t mention redaction (checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault removes SSNs and account numbers automatically on every plan, keeping the last four digits on statements.

Does Orangedox have Q&A for buyer questions?

Not as a module: Orangedox lists NDA gating, access requests and document signing, with no Q&A module (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03). In ClosingVault buyers ask questions in the room, and an answer can link the document.

Which one watermarks every page with who is reading?

ClosingVault stamps its viewer with the reader’s name and the time. Orangedox’s dynamic watermark shows the participant’s email only, on its $135 Teams plan (orangedox.com, checked 2026-11-03).