DocSend alternative for lower-middle-market M&A
ClosingVault vs DocSend: which fits a lower-middle-market sale?
Pick DocSend if page-by-page engagement analytics, unlimited eSignature and Dropbox’s compliance paperwork matter most. Pick ClosingVault for a lower-middle-market business sale: filing to the checklist item, automatic SSN and account-number removal, and LOIs decided by owner majority with exclusivity, for $79 a month billed yearly against $180 for DocSend Advanced Data Rooms.
Last updated: 2026-11-03
How do ClosingVault and DocSend compare, row by row?
One fact per cell. Each DocSend fact links to the page of DocSend’s own site it came from, read on 2026-11-03. “Not stated” means that site did not say.
| What the room does | ClosingVault | DocSend |
|---|---|---|
| Data-room price, per month billed yearly | $79, Starter (founding price; $109 standard) | $180, Advanced Data Rooms, 3 usersdocsend.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| How it’s priced | Flat tier | Tier that includes 3 usersdocsend.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Invited guests | Free and unlimited | Unlimited visitorsdocsend.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| How the AI organizes documents | Files each document to the checklist item it answers | AI Organize suggests a folder for each filehelp.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| What the AI reads to file | The file’s name, folder and text, scans included | File names and metadatahelp.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Import your own checklist | From an Excel workbook | From DocSend’s CSV template, on Advanced Data Roomshelp.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| How a request closes | A document, or the seller’s signed statement | Upload or decline; an admin can also mark it completehelp.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Finds SSNs and account numbers automatically | SSNs, taxpayer IDs, card and bank account numbers, automatically | Not stateddocsend.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Page-by-page reading | Yes, buyer by buyer | Time per page for each visit, all customershelp.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| Watermark | Viewer’s name and the time | Email, IP, account name, date and timehelp.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| LOIs and exclusivity in the room | Owner majority decides; exclusivity pauses other buyers | Not stateddocsend.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
| SOC 2 | SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified. | SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3trust.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03 |
On the basis of our step-by-step comparison (per month, billed yearly, one person): ClosingVault Starter is $79 (founding price; $109 standard) and covers all 20 steps of a sale. DocSend Advanced Data Rooms is $180 with 3 users and states 7 of the 20; its lower Advanced plan, with lightweight data rooms and NDAs, is $150 (docsend.com, checked 2026-11-03).
Where is DocSend strong?
- Engagement analytics. Page-by-page analytics on shared documents, including video and rich media (docsend.com, checked 2026-11-03).
- Signing and gating built in. NDAs and gating agreements from Advanced, and unlimited eSignature (docsend.com, checked 2026-11-03).
- A diligence tracker. Advanced Data Rooms has due diligence tracking with tasks imported from a CSV template (help.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03).
- Compliance paperwork. The DocSend Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 (trust.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03).
Where does ClosingVault win?
- The AI reads each file, scans included, and files it to the checklist item it answers, rather than suggesting a folder from its name.
- SSNs and account numbers are removed automatically, on every plan.
- LOIs are decided by owner majority, and exclusivity pauses the other buyers.
- A request closes only with a document or the seller’s signed statement, so nothing is marked done on silence.
Every step of a sale, room by room: compare data rooms. Every ClosingVault feature, one page each: features.
ClosingVault vs DocSend questions
I already use DocSend to share documents. Is it enough to run a whole business
sale?
Compare what each states: DocSend Advanced Data Rooms, at $180 a month billed yearly, states 7 of the 20 steps of a sale on our comparison, and ClosingVault Starter, at $79, states all 20 (vendor sites, checked 2026-11-03).
Does DocSend’s AI Organize file documents to a checklist?
It suggests a folder tree and where each file goes, based on file names and metadata (help.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault reads each file, scans included, and files it to the checklist item it answers.
I’m a buyer with my own request list. Can I import it into DocSend?
Yes, from DocSend’s own CSV template into its diligence tracker, on Advanced Data Rooms (help.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault takes your request list as an Excel workbook when you open the room.
Does DocSend redact account numbers on bank statements?
DocSend’s pricing page and help articles don’t describe a redaction feature (checked 2026-11-03). ClosingVault removes SSNs and account numbers automatically on every plan, keeping the last four digits on statements.
Which one has the stronger compliance paperwork?
DocSend: its Trust Center lists SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3 (trust.dropbox.com, checked 2026-11-03). SOC 2 Type II is on the roadmap; ClosingVault is not certified.